Yes, I know I’ve been neglecting the Perrylicious lately, despite our boy surging to the front of the pack.

In 2006 I recall attending a campaign rollout event at Flying Saucer for Kinky Friedman. A Texas original indeed, but, in my opinion, not the most personable character in the flesh. Feeling profoundly dissatisfied with the Democratic party choices, I did pick up a bumper sticker that’s slowly peeling away on my Saturn.

On election day, I held true to the Kinkster (along with 12% of my fellow Texans), while my wife switched her allegiance to Democrat Chris Bell (30%) after mistaking him for our neighbors son. Coming in ahead of Kinky at 18% was the self-styled “one tough grandma” (Carole Keeton etc etc). That was the “governor thirty-nine percent” election and the poorest showing ever for Rick in a statewide contest. Having two Independents on the ballot may have been a once in a lifetime event.

And now the Kinkster has come out for Rick. Much is explained in his Daily Beast article my favorite quote being “…there remains the little matter of God. God talks to televangelists, football coaches, and people in mental hospitals. Why shouldn’t he talk to Rick Perry? In the spirit of Joseph Heller, I have a covenant with God. I leave him alone and he leaves me alone. If, however, I have a big problem, I ask God for the answer. He tells Rick Perry. And Rick tells me.”

